The name Duns derives from the Gaelic 'Dun' meaning fort or hill top.
Today, Duns is a typical example of an Old Scottish Burgh, with the varied architecture the town has managed to retain much of its original dignity and charm. Since the early 1990's Duns has seen substantial housing developments.
Duns is home to the 'Jim Clark Room' a musuem dedicated to the late world motor racing champion, with a collection of memorabillia, photographs and trophies.
Duns has a range of retail outlets for everyday shopping as well as for that special gift. The county town also boasts an impressive array of places to dine from the Whip & Saddle pub to the coffee shop in Pearson’s Home & Garden Centre. To find out where to eat, sleep and visit whilst in Duns click here.
Duns has a turbulent history, being only 10.5 miles from the English Border has resulted in many armies passing through Duns, either on their way to or from England.
In the space of five years - 1544, 1545 and 1548 - the English burned Duns to the ground, the first two burnings part of the Earl of Hertford's brutal rampage across the Border during the 'Rough Wooing'. Hertford was carrying out the orders of Henry VIII who wanted Queen Mary to marry his son - Prince Edward - but his attempt was unsuccessful.